1817.121: Notes of Revisors of the Laws to Bills included in the Revisal.

Published: 1817

Full Title: [Notes of the revisors of the laws to the bills by them reported]

Author: Committee of Revisors of the Laws.

Place Issued: Richmond

Issuing Press: Thomas Ritchie

Description: Unrecorded


The preceding Assembly had authorized a new compilation of Virginia's laws (Chap. XVII of Acts of the November 1816 Assembly), the first such substantial revision since that of 1792 (with addenda issued in 1803, 1807, and 1812). That act appointed a committee consisting of Spencer Roane, John Coalter, Robert White, William Brockenbrough, and Benjamin Watkins Leigh, to oversee the revisal; they then engaged the legal reporters William Waller Hening and William Munford as their authorities. Their initial mandated report to the December 1817 Assembly contained a list of laws that would be included in the revisal; this document provided information of their reasoning in compiling that list. No copy known extant; Thomas Ritchie, the public printer, was ordered on December 9, 1817, to print 250 copies of this message for the use of the Assembly, so the attribution here to the partnership then conducting Ritchie's press.

There are 3 people associated with this imprint record:

Printer-Friendly PDF

Go back to Index of Imprint Records